Ten Nigerian ministers resign to run for 2023 elections

Central bank governor Godwin Emefiele and at least four of the resigned ministers are seeking to succeed Buhari as Nigeria’s president.

Ten Nigerian ministers, including the deputy oil minister, have resigned to stand in next year’s elections, Information Minister Lai Mohammed has said.

The government on Thursday asked all ministers, ambassadors, agency heads and other political appointees to step down on or before May 16 if they decide to join the country’s 2023 election race.

Other ministers who had resigned on Friday morning included: the ministers of justice, transport, labour, the Niger delta region and women’s affairs. Junior mines and education ministers have also resigned, Mohammed said.

President Muhammadu Buhari also acts as chief oil minister.

Buhari will step down after serving two four-year terms after the February 2023 poll. At least four of the ministers who resigned are seeking to replace Buhari, as is central bank governor Godwin Emefiele who is running an unprecedented presidential run.

“This morning there was a farewell ceremony for 10 members of the Federal Council who expressed their desire to run for higher office,” the information minister said in a press release. “Nine of them were present, the 10th was absent with apologies.”

Nigeria’s ruling party and major opposition parties are holding primary elections later this month and are due to choose their candidates by June 3.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.