Mayor of Lewisham announces new Cabinet team after election

Lewisham’s new mayor has announced his cabinet following local elections.

Damien Egan was re-elected with 39,966 votes (58.05%).

Labor held all 54 local councilor seats in a majority victory.

Nick Humberstone of the Green Party won 10,987 votes (16%) while Caroline Louise Attfield of the Conservative Party won 7,980 votes (12%).

A total of 68,847 votes were cast in the Lewisham mayoral election in 2022.

Mayor Egan said: “I am honored to have been re-elected as Mayor of Lewisham for another four years, alongside a fantastic team of councillors.

“I am delighted to get involved and deliver the ambitious manifesto on which I was elected.

“I am delighted to confirm my practice, which will provide the talent, energy and challenge to move forward and make a real difference in the lives of local people.

“Across the board, I am proud that we have our most diverse group of advisors to date.

The Mayor’s Office team is made up of:

Brenda Dacres: Deputy Mayor and Cabinet Member for Housing Development and Planning

Chris Barnham: Children, Youth and Community Safety

Paul Bell: adult health and social services

Juliet Campbell: Communities, Refugees and Well-Being

Sophie Davis: housing management and homelessness

Amanda de Ryk: finance and strategy

Louise Krupski: Environment and climate action

Kim Powell: Business, Jobs and Skills

André Bourne: Culture and Leisure (jobshare)

James-J Walsh: Culture and leisure (job sharing)

These appointments will be confirmed at the Board’s AGM on May 25th.

Do you have a story for us? You can contact us here.

Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram to follow all the latest news.

Sign up for our newsletters to receive updates straight to your inbox.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.