Eleven MPs from Tripura to be sworn in as Cabinet Ministers


Agartala, May 15

A total of eleven MPs – nine from the BJP and two from the IPFT – will be sworn in as Tripura Cabinet Ministers on Monday.

All ministers in the Biplab Kumar Deb cabinet except IPFT’s Mevar Kumar Jamatia have secured a place in the new cabinet, an official said.

Governor SN Arya will swear the oath of office and secrecy to Cabinet Ministers during a program at Raj Bhavan attended by Chief Minister Manik Saha, former Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb and other dignitaries .

“Jishnu Dev Varma, NC Debbarma (IPFT), Ratan Lal Nath, Pranajit Singha Roy, Manoj Kanti Deb, Santana Chakma, Ram Prasad Paul, Bhagaban Das, Sushanta Chowdhury, Rampada Jamatia and Prem Kumar Reang (IPFT) will be sworn in as state cabinet ministers tomorrow,” the new CM said in a letter to the governor Sunday evening.

Saha was sworn in as Chief Minister of Tripura on Sunday.

Former Chief Minister Biplab Deb, whose sudden resignation a day earlier had enabled Saha to be appointed to head the office, was present at the ceremony along with BJP MPs and ministers of state.

Rampada Jamatia, a veteran BJP tribal leader, was included in the list of cabinet ministers.

IPFT MLA Prem Kumar Reang was also inducted into the new cabinet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.